Non-Executive Recruitment

Our Council of Governors

The Council of Governors, led by our Chair, is made up of elected members of the public, staff and representatives from partner organisations.

Governors are responsible for ensuring the views of our diverse local communities and members are considered in decisions about how we develop our services. They meet four times a year. Click here to find out more about Council of Governor meetings.

Our governors represent the five local constituencies, along with representation from the rest of England, our staff and appointed from local councils.

Governors from Bury

  • Clive Brown
  • Derek Rowley
  • Lucette Tucker
  • Marion Atkison

Governors from Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale

  • Sohail Ahmad
  • Eileen Stapleton
  • Des Farry
  • Ken Hall

Governors from Oldham

  • John Starkey
  • Norma Bewley
  • Jim McDermott
  • Karen Williams

Governors from Stockport

  • Brian Wild
  • June Somekh
  • Mary Foden
  • Paul Carter

Governors from Tameside and Glossop

  • Joyce Howarth MBE
  • Jean Hurlston
  • John Reddy
  • Wendy Hartley

Governor from the rest of England

  • Aderonke Apata

Staff Governors

  • Dr Jaco Nel, medical
  • Lina Papista, registered health and social care professionals
  • Kirsten Baker, registered health and social care professionals
  • Kim Marshall, registered nurses
  • John Stanley, registered nurses
  • Ellie Mackle, unregistered nurse, health and care professionals
  • Richard Cliff, corporate and support

Appointed Governors

  • Vacant, Bury Council
  • Cllr. Norman Briggs, Oldham Council
  • Cllr. Peter Joinson, Rochdale Council
  • Vacant, Stockport Council
  • Cllr. Jackie Lane, Tameside Council